Energy and Process Efficiency

21.1%

Reduction in SO2 emissions relative to the prior year1

9.2%

Reduction in NOx emissions relative to the prior year1

~ €100,000

Possible savings per year through paperless invoices and salary statements

21.2%

Reduction in dust emissions relative to the prior year1 (particles with a maximum diameter of 10 microns)

37.5

Average hours of training per full-time employee

Certification

of the Uniper Operational Excellence Program

Getting Better Every Day

The energy business is dynamic and demanding. So is our work. We need dedicated employees, lean processes, and highly efficient assets to meet the various market-related and regulatory challenges we face. This includes implementing the EU Energy Efficiency Directive (EED) 2012/27/EU governing end-consumption energy efficiency and energy services. We view the spinoff from E.ON as a great opportunity to give ourselves the best possible setup. And we pursue operational excellence at all levels of our company.

We aim to deliver a superior performance wherever we operate. We optimize our assets and systems to maintain high operational standards. At the same time, we plan early and empower our people to develop pragmatic solutions that continually improve our work processes. We do all of this the Uniper Way, our corporate identity, which describes our philosophy regarding the interplay between leadership, team work, and each individual’s contribution. It motivates us to give our best every day. 

Updating our environmental management systems

A conscientious approach to water, waste, and energy is important for us. Our performance in this area not only affects our operating efficiency and market position. It also influences the public’s perception and acceptance of our company. Building on E.ON initiatives, we therefore designed country-specific plans for Uniper to update or introduce energy and environmental management systems across our company. The Environmental Management Systems at most of our operating facilities have been certified to comply with the international ISO 14001 norm for many years. We plan to progressively adopt the updated version of this norm released in 2015. In 2016 we also began the progressive certification of the energy and environmental management systems of our conventional power plants in Germany to compliance with the ISO 14001 norm for Environmental Management Systems, alongside the already existing certification of energy management to ISO 50001. In the future, this will enable us to harmonize and optimize our performance and monitoring in these areas, which will help us further reduce our adverse environmental impacts. 

Coverage of Environmental Management Systems (ISO 14001)

%

France

100

Germany

83

Hungary

100

Netherlands

100

Russia

100

Sweden

100

United Kingdom

100

The table includes only consolidated assets. It does not include assets in Belgium (Langerlo, which was sold in January 2016, and Vilvoorde, which is in strategic reserve and not operational), decommissioned plants, or administrative offices. The certification of Ironbridge power station in Britain was not renewed due to the plant’s closure.

 

Optimizing assets, reducing emissions

Our conventional power stations play an important role in ensuring supply security. With an average age of 31 years, they’re relatively new and in good technical condition. But there’s still a lot of room for improvement. Above all we want to further reduce their emissions.

Sulfur dioxide (SO2) results primarily from the combustion of sulfurous coal. Flue-gas desulfurization equipment captures 90 percent of our SO2 emissions and prevents them from entering the atmosphere. We emitted 22 kilotons (kt) of SO2 in 2016, just under 6 kt less than in 2015, mainly because our coal-fired power stations generated less power (mainly in the United Kingdom and Russia).

Most nitrous oxides (NOx) are produced from the reaction between nitrogen and oxygen during combustion at high temperatures. For example, our gas- and coal-fired power stations emit NOx. Our power stations in Russia are responsible for most of our NOx emissions. In 2016 these emissions declined by about 7 kt year on year to 67 kt, likewise mainly because our coal-fired power stations generated less power.

Despite being equipped with extensive filters, coal-fired power stations emit dust. Our dust (or particulate) emissions in 2016 declined significantly year on year, from about to 2.5 kt to 2 kt. Particles with a diameter of at most 10 microns are classified as dust. We’re planning to test new tools for gathering data on our emissions of particles, including those with a diameter of less than 0.1 microns, in 2017.

We implemented several projects during the reporting period to make our assets more flexible and efficient.

Country

Project

Type of improvement

United Kingdom

CDC: service package 7

Cottam Development Center (CDC), a combined-cycle gas turbine, received a new and technologically advanced gas turbine. This—along with a new rotor blade configuration, a new burner, fuel preheating, and other technical improvements—increased CDC’s efficiency by 2.8% and its capacity by 40 MW.

Netherlands

MPP3: co-firing infrastructure

Unit 3 of Maasvlakte power station (MPP3) entered service in 2015 and is one of the world’s most technologically advanced coal-fired generating units. It alone can meet 7% of the Netherlands’ electricity needs. In 2016 it was reconfigured to co-fire up to 15% biomass, rendering a portion of its output climate-neutral.

Russia

Service package 8

Enhancing efficiency and performance.

 The Uniper Way

The Uniper Way describes how we want to work together at our company. It has three dimensions:

  • Leadership: grow and empower people
  • Teamwork: become one and simplify
  • Your individual contribution: act as it was your own company.

HR facilitates the implementation of the Uniper Way by embedding it into our leadership and HR tools and putting a clear emphasis on its application in our day-to-day collaboration. One example is the “Voice of Uniper” employee survey, which we conducted in 2016. We wanted our people to tell us where we stand in making the Uniper Way a reality and how they assess the transformation of our organization following the spinoff from E.ON.

About 4,000 employees took the voluntary survey. Their feedback was clear: restructuring our organization is crucial. At the same time, many said that they feel empowered to speak up when they have a new idea and to try new approaches, which is exactly what we need in order to be an innovative company. But many also wished they had more and better information about our strategic plans. We intend to put the insights from the survey into practice and to conduct another survey to gauge our progress.

Our program for high-potential university graduates is another aspect of the Uniper Way. The 18-month program, in which participants rotate between several departments at our company, is individually tailored to their interests. Many participants are interested in sustainability and contribute their fresh ideas to our change process. In 2016 they could choose between three projects with a sustainability component: promoting sustainable procurement, improving digital stakeholder and local-resident relations, and enhancing water efficiency.

Story: Generational Change

Embracing change, developing our organization

Our organizational setup is a key lever for change. That’s why improvements begin in the workplace. We not only want to maintain our level of performance but also to continually improve it. We use restructuring to tap synergies between different parts of our company and to eliminate a silo mentality.

When Uniper was created at the start of 2016, changes were made in many teams: new colleagues and new systems, open work cultures and surroundings. This also applied to the Operational Excellence (OE) department under the leadership of our Chief Operating Officer, Eckhardt Rümmler, who is also our Chief Sustainability Officer.

In April 2016 the OE team began to update our OE training system to a level of quality that would enable it to obtain independent certification. This would give us the assurance that our OE training system is relevant, well structured, and effective. We achieved our objective: in 2017 our OE training system was certified by the Lean Competency System of Cardiff University to represent the best practices in organizational development.

The certification is a very important step for Uniper. It underscores our commitment of a continuous operational excellence approach, which is the basis for a consistently strong performance. Certification is a seal of approval, enabling us to appropriately recognize our employees who successfully complete the training.

Eckhardt Rümmler Chief Operating Officer (COO)

In 2016 we implemented an important OE project at Grain, a combined-cycle gas turbine located on the southeast coast of England. The plant’s employees played a pivotal role in the improvement process. To permanently enhance Grain’s performance, we reviewed and, where necessary, adjusted all operating processes, management systems, thought patterns, and behaviors. The four main objectives were to put in place a new performance management system, improve the management structure, revamp the maintenance strategy, and encourage employees to participate in making further changes.

Voice of the customer

We’re also developing ways to further improve our customer relations. Satisfied customers are crucial to our business success. We need to understand how our customers think and have a clear idea of how we can meet their expectations. We also need to measure our success effectively.

Of the many ways to learn things about our customers, we’ve chosen the most direct: we ask them. In 2016, our Asset Management team started conducting personal interviewing with its customers to find out about their expectations for the future, what they see as our strengths, and where we could improve. The findings will guide our priorities from 2017 onward. The interviews are supplemented by a short online survey of Asset Management’s customers developed by the OE department.


1Comparisons are based on data provided in the E.ON Sustainability Report 2015.
2Figures only include fully consolidated thermal power stations.

Assured Content

Selected figures were independently audited and are identified by the “audited” check symbol   .
Qualitative content related to the Management Approach was also part of the assurance.

Download the Assurance Statement here

Energie- und Prozesseffizienz

21,1 %

weniger SO2-Emissionen im Vergleich zum Vorjahr1)

9,2 %

weniger NOx-Emissionen im Vergleich zum Vorjahr1)

~100.000 €

mögliche Einsparungen pro Jahr durch papierlose Rechnungen und Gehaltsabrechnung per E Mail

21, 2%

weniger Staubexpositionen im Vergleich zum Vorjahr1) (bezogen auf Partikel mit maximalem Durchmesser von 10 µm)

37,5

Schulungsstunden durchschnittlich pro Vollzeitkraft

Zertifizierung

des Uniper-Programms „Operational Excellence“

Täglich besser werden

So dynamisch und anspruchsvoll wie das Energiegeschäft ist auch unsere Arbeitswelt. Wir brauchen engagierte Mitarbeiter, schlanke Prozesse und hocheffiziente Anlagen, um den vielfältigen Herausforderungen des Marktes und den Anforderungen des Gesetzgebers gerecht zu werden. Dazu gehört beispielsweise die Umsetzung der EU-Richtlinie 2012/27/EU über Endenergieeffizienz und Energiedienstleistungen. Die Abspaltung von E.ON sehen wir als große Chance, um uns optimiert aufzustellen. Dabei setzen wir auf die „Operational Excellence“, sprich: eine umfassende Verbesserung auf allen Ebenen.

Es ist unser Anspruch, Spitzenleistungen zu erbringen, wo immer wir tätig sind. Deshalb optimieren wir permanent unsere Anlagen und Prozesse, um die hohen Standards einzuhalten. Gleichzeitig planen wir frühzeitig und arbeiten gemeinsam mit unseren Mitarbeitern an pragmatischen Lösungen, um auch die Arbeitsprozesse stetig zu verbessern. Dabei folgen wir stets dem „Uniper Way“ – unserem Leitbild, das das Zusammenspiel von Führung, Teamarbeit und individuellem Mitarbeiterbeitrag beschreibt. Dies motiviert uns Tag für Tag, unser Bestes zu geben.

Umweltmanagementsysteme erneuern

Ein bewusster Umgang mit Wasser, Abfällen und Energie ist wichtig für uns. Er wirkt sich zum einen auf unsere betriebliche Effizienz und Marktposition aus. Zum anderen beeinflusst unser Umweltbewusstsein die Akzeptanz unseres Unternehmens in der Gesellschaft. Deshalb haben wir – ausgehend von den E.ON-Maßnahmen 2015 – länderspezifische Pläne für Uniper entwickelt, um konzernweit Energie- und Umweltmanagementsysteme zu erneuern oder einzuführen. An den meisten unserer operativen Standorte sind die Umweltmanagementsysteme seit vielen Jahren nach der internationalen Norm ISO 14001 zertifiziert. Hier planen wir die schrittweise Umstellung auf die 2015 novellierte Version dieser Norm. 2016 haben wir zudem begonnen, die Energie- und Umweltmanagementsysteme unserer konventionellen Kraftwerke in Deutschland – neben der bereits bestehenden Zertifizierung des Energiemanagements nach ISO 50001 – schrittweise auch nach der Norm ISO 14001 für Umweltmanagementsysteme zertifizieren zu lassen. Damit sind wir in der Lage, künftig unsere Leistungen sowie die Überwachung in diesen Bereichen weiter zu harmonisieren und optimieren. Auf diese Weise können wir negative Umweltauswirkungen, die durch unser Unternehmen entstehen, weiter verringern.

Abdeckung Umweltmanagementsysteme (ISO 14001)

 

in %

Deutschland

83

Frankreich

100

Großbritannien

100

Niederlande

100

Russland

100

Schweden

100

Ungarn

100

Die Tabelle beinhaltet nur konsolidierte Anlagen. Sie beinhaltet keine Anlagen in Belgien (Langerlo veräußert im Januar 2016; Vilvoorde in strategischer Reserve und nicht in Betrieb), stillgelegte Anlagen oder Verwaltungsgebäude. Die Zertifizierung des Kraftwerks Ironbridge in Großbritannien wurde aufgrund der Stilllegung nicht erneuert.

Anlagen optimieren, Emissionen senken

Unsere konventionellen Kraftwerke nehmen eine zentrale Rolle bei der Versorgungssicherheit ein. Obwohl sie mit durchschnittlich 31 Jahren relativ jung und in technisch gutem Zustand sind, ist das Potenzial für Verbesserungen und Effizienzsteigerungen dennoch groß. Vor allem wollen wir noch weniger Emissionen ausstoßen.

Schwefeldioxid (SO2) entsteht vor allem durch die Verbrennung schwefelhaltiger Kohle. Wir können SO2-Emissionen mit Rauchgasentschwefelung um bis zu 90 % senken. Mit rund 22 kt hat sich die ausgestoßene Menge an SO2 im Vergleich zu den Vorjahren weiter um knapp 6 kt reduziert. Dieser Umstand ist vor allem auf die gesunkene Stromerzeugung ausKohlekraftwerken zurückzuführen (beispielsweise in Großbritannien und Russland).

Stickoxide (NOx) entstehen vor allem unter hohen Verbrennungstemperaturen aus dem in der Luft enthaltenen Stickstoff. Bei uns ist etwa die Verbrennung von Gas oder Kohle in unseren Kraftwerken mit NOx-Emissionen verbunden. Der Großteil davon stammt aus unseren Anlagen in Russland. 2016 hat sich die Menge der NOx-Emissionen gegenüber den Vorjahren weiter um rund 7 kt auf 67 kt verringert. Das liegt ebenfalls an einem geringeren Anteil der Stromerzeugung ausKohlekraftwerken.

Beim Betrieb von Kohlekraftwerken wird trotz aufwendigen Filteranlagen Staub freigesetzt. Diese sogenannten Staubexpositionen gingen konzernweit deutlich zurück – von rund 2,5 auf 2 kt. Sie beziehen Partikel mit maximalem Durchmesser von 10 µm ein. Derzeit erproben wir ein Verfahren, mit dem wir auch kleinere Partikel mit einem Durchmesser unter 0,1 µm in unseren Messungen erfassen können.

Um unsere Anlagen noch flexibler und effizienter zu machen, haben wir im Berichtszeitraum mehrere Projekte umgesetzt.

Land

Projekt

Art der Verbesserung

Großbritannien

CDC
Servicepaket 7

Das Kraftwerk Cottam Development Center (CDC) hat 2017 eine neue, modernere Gasturbine erhalten. Durch eine Reihe technischer Verbesserungen, beispielsweise eine neue Rotorblattkonstruktion, neue Brenner und eine Brenngasvorwärmung, werden die Effizienz um 2,8 % und die Kapazität um 40 MW gesteigert.

Niederlande

MPP3
Mitverbrennungs- Infrastruktur

Block 3 des Kohlekraftwerks Maasvlakte (MPP3) wurde 2015 fertiggestellt und ist eines der modernsten Kraftwerke weltweit. Es kann 7 % des gesamten niederländischen Stromverbrauchs bereitstellen. 2016 wurde es zur Mitverbrennung von bis zu 15 % Biomasse aufgerüstet, die einen Teil der Produktion klimafreundlich gestaltet.

Russland

Servicepaket 8

Erhöhung von Effizienz und Leistung

 

Der „Uniper Way“

Der Uniper-Weg beschreibt die Art und Weise, wie wir in unserem Unternehmen zusammenarbeiten wollen. Er beinhaltet drei Dimensionen:

  • durch „Führung“ wachsen und Menschen befähigen
  • durch „Teamarbeit“ zur Einheit werden und Prozesse vereinfachen
  • mit „meinem individuellen Beitrag“ als Unternehmer handeln

Bei der Umsetzung des Uniper-Wegs unterstützt uns unser Personalbereich. Er macht ihn zum Bestandteil unserer Führungs- sowie Personalmanagementinstrumente und ist dafür verantwortlich, dass wir ihn in unserer täglichen Zusammenarbeit stets reflektieren. 2016 haben wir die Mitarbeiterbefragung „Voice of Uniper“ durchgeführt. Wir wollten von unseren Beschäftigten erfahren, wo wir heute stehen auf unserem Uniper-Weg und wie sie nach der Abspaltung von E.ON unsere Transformation zu einem eigenständigen Unternehmen beurteilen.

Rund 4.000 Mitarbeiter beteiligten sich an dieser freiwilligen Befragung. Ihre Antworten zeigen deutlich, dass ein Umbau unserer Organisation wichtig ist. Gleichzeitig äußerten viele, dass sie sich ermutigt fühlen, neue Ideen einzubringen und neue Wege zu gehen, um Uniper zu einem Dreh- und Angelpunkt für Innovationen zu machen. Viele wünschten sich aber auch mehr und bessere Informationen über unsere strategischen Planungen. Wir haben uns daraufhin vorgenommen, die Erkenntnisse aus der Umfrage in die Praxis zu übersetzen und den Erfolg später in einer erneuten Befragung zu testen.

Zum „Uniper Way“ gehört auch ein Programm für ambitionierte Universitätsabsolventen. In einem Zeitraum von mindestens 18 Monaten durchlaufen die Teilnehmer verschiedene Abteilungen unseres Unternehmens. Den Ablauf können sie flexibel nach den eigenen Interessen gestalten. Viele junge Berufseinsteiger finden das Thema Nachhaltigkeit spannend und möchten sich in Veränderungsprozesse einbringen. Deshalb standen 2016 drei Projekte mit entsprechendem Bezug zur Auswahl: Eines davon befasste sich damit, unsere Beschaffungsprozesse nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Das zweite thematisierte die Verbesserung der lokalen Beziehungen zu Bevölkerung und Stakeholdern in Zeiten der Digitalisierung. Und das dritte konzentrierte sich auf die Steigerung unserer Wassereffizienz.

Story: Generationswandel

Veränderungen nutzen, Organisationsentwicklung vorantreiben

Unsere internen Strukturen sind ein entscheidender Hebel für Veränderungen. Deshalb beginnen wir mit Verbesserungen an den Arbeitsplätzen. Wir wollen unser Leistungsniveau nicht nur halten, sondern uns kontinuierlich verbessern. So nutzen wir die Umstrukturierung, um etwa mögliche Synergien der einzelnen Unternehmensbereiche zu erschließen und Informationssilos aufzulösen.

Als Uniper Anfang 2016 entstand, wurden in vielen Teams Änderungen vorgenommen: neue Kollegen, eine offenere Arbeitskultur und Umgebung und natürlich andere Systeme. Das galt auch für den Bereich Operational Excellence (OE) unter der Leitung des Chief Operation Officers (COO) Eckhardt Rümmler, der zugleich das Ressort Nachhaltigkeit verantwortet.

Seit April 2016 arbeitet das OE-Team daran, das OE-Schulungssystem zu modernisieren. Das Ziel lautet, ein Schulungsprogramm von so hoher Qualität zu entwickeln, dass es eine extern anerkannte Zertifizierung erhalten kann. Diese Zertifizierung würde uns die Gewissheit geben, dass das OE-Schulungssystem relevant, gut strukturiert und effektiv ist. 2017 war es so weit: Unser OE-Trainingsprogramm wurde durch das Lean Competency System der Cardiff University, Großbritannien, akkreditiert. Die Trainings entsprechen damit den „Best Practice“-Standards für Organisationsentwicklung.

Die Akkreditierung ist ein sehr wichtiger Schritt für uns. Sie unterstreicht unseren Ansatz eines nachhaltigen Modells für Operational Excellence, die Basis einer starken Leistung bei Uniper. Mit der Akkreditierung haben wir den formalen Weg geebnet und wir haben nun die Möglichkeit, unsere Mitarbeiter, die das Training erfolgreich absolviert haben, dementsprechend anzuerkennen.

Eckhardt Rümmler Chief Operating Officer (COO)

Ein wichtiges Projekt in Sachen OE haben wir 2016 in unserem Kraftwerk Grain in der englischen Grafschaft Kent umgesetzt. Seine Belegschaft trieb die Verbesserungen mit voran. Um eine nachhaltig höhere Leistungsfähigkeit zu erreichen, haben wir alle betrieblichen Prozesse, Managementsysteme und Denk- sowie Verhaltensweisen überprüft und neu justiert. Dabei setzten wir vier Schwerpunkte: Wir führten ein Leistungsmanagementsystem ein, verbesserten die Führungsstruktur, richteten die Instandhaltungsstrategie neu aus und motivierten unsere Mitarbeiter, an weiteren Veränderung mitzuwirken.

„Voice of the customer“

Wir arbeiten auch an weiteren Verbesserungen für unsere Kunden. Zufriedene Kunden haben eine zentrale Bedeutung für unseren geschäftlichen Erfolg. Wir müssen verstehen, wie unsere Kunden denken, und klare Ziele sowie Maßnahmen definieren, mit denen wir ihre Erwartungen erfüllen können. Außerdem benötigen wir eine wirksame Erfolgsmessung.

Von den vielen Möglichkeiten, etwas von unseren Kunden zu erfahren, haben wir die direkteste gewählt: Wir fragen sie. Unser Anlagenmanagementteam hat 2016 begonnen, seine Kunden in persönlichen Gesprächen zu befragen. Dazu gehören Themen, die sie in Zukunft interessieren, wichtige Stärken von Uniper und Dinge, die wir besser machen können. Auf Basis der Ergebnisse werden wir ab 2017 unsere Prioritäten daran ausrichten. Das Uniper-Operational-Excellence-Team führt begleitend eine kurze Online-Befragung bei den Kunden unseres Anlagenmanagements durch.


1) Vergleiche beziehen sich auf die Angaben des E.ON-Nachhaltigkeitsberichts 2015.
2) Die Zahlen beziehen sich nur auf vollkonsolidierte thermische Kraftwerke.

Geprüfte Inhalte

Ausgewählte Kennzahlen, die einer betriebswirtschaftlichen Prüfung unterzogen wurden, sind mit einem Symbol   gekennzeichnet.
Qualitative Inhalte der Managementansätze waren ebenfalls Bestandteil der betriebswirtschaftlichen Prüfung.

Hier gelangen Sie zur Prüfbescheinigung.